AFI - The Art of Drowning

AFI - The Art of Drowning

Rating

Genres

Info

Released: N/A
Formats:
Label:Nitro Records
Added: 2012-12-15

Tracklist

Members

Definitely the best stuff AFI has ever done. Before this, I wasn't a big fan of them, but The Art of Drowning has painted my face black and white. The Art of Drowning is undeniably a piece of complex art. Everything on the album, is sculpted with intricate detail and painted with energy. AFI's unique blend of hardcore and punk as presented on this album, will go unsurpassed for a long time to come. From a musician's perspective, you'll find that the songs are highly structured for live shows. I hope they can overcome their own work (an extremely hard feat) in the future.

# Track Length Lyrics

Comments

by 12/2/2001 0:00:00

This is a master piece, The mix with lyrics and the instrumental sound is so powerfull. This album seem at the same time similar and very different of Black Sails In The Sunset. The best elements has remained and progress. The emotion seem more and more present and I love it. The Jade Puget metal touch seems a perfect mix with Davey's lyrics. the apparition of Jade is, has my opinion, the best thing which could have arrived to AFI.

by nick 7/25/2003 0:00:00

yeah this kicks ass its the best ive seen from afi. Sing the sorrow is a good cd to but the art of drowning is just plain awesome.

by Dave Turner 8/25/2003 0:00:00

Awesome, AFI has to be one of the greatest bands around, every song on this album is great. Go buy it as well as Black Sails in the Sunset and Sing the Sorrow. Stinkin awesome!!

by Sarita 9/3/2003 0:00:00

This is my favorite album of ALL TIME. Thou shalt bow down and worship the band that is AFI.

by Diandra 9/30/2003 0:00:00

AFI is one of the best bands I've ever heard, and their live shows are amazing! The Art of Drowning is one of the best CDs they've ever released.

by luisa 10/4/2003 0:00:00

this is the best fucking CD!! AFI is one of my top 5 favorite bands! AFI FUCKIN ROCKS!

by alli 10/11/2003 0:00:00

i was in fucking awe when i first heard this album, their sound isnt like the rest of the hard core punk bands! its so much fucking better. kick ass, rock on davey, jade, adam, and hunter

by Jade Puget 10/24/2003 0:00:00

hey guys I was just surfing the net and saw this review. I just want to thank you for the comments and say hi. Love, Jade

by Aaron Le Tual 11/5/2003 0:00:00

This album is cleary setting the bar for what afi has become over the last 6 years, jade , hunter, and adam are truely talent musicians, and jade is my guitar hero, and i owe a lot to this album and there new album Sing The Sorrow

by ana 11/5/2003 0:00:00

it's the best

by Manders 11/11/2003 0:00:00

I have liked AFI since this album came out. Everyone thinks that Black Sails is their best work, but I definitely have to say that this is far better.

by Jenna 11/28/2003 0:00:00

I love AFI and nothing they do could ever be bad. With Davey doing the lyrics its no possible to suck.

by --- 12/26/2003 0:00:00

yey

by anithero 1/21/2004 0:00:00

This album is rad as hell.

by kim 1/30/2004 0:00:00

I LOVE DAVEY HAVOK! ! ! ! ! ! AFI ROCKS SOCKS!!!!!! THIS IS ONE OF THEIR BEST!!!!

by kelly 2/21/2004 0:00:00

The art of drowning is a great album, one of afi's best. it is cool to see how much afi's sound evolves with each cd. the art of drowning will leave you mistified by the lyrics alone. not to mention the bad ass music that will get you addicted. If you like this album, and haven't heard black sails in the sunset yet, just buy it and you will love it. this cd isn't my all time favorite out of all of afi's cds, but there was so much fire and feeling behind the lyrics. AFI will always come out with something fresh and different and i will always be a fan.

by LuLu 3/4/2004 0:00:00

Black sails in the sunset was hella much better

by amy 3/12/2004 0:00:00

afi rocks!!!i love davey havok so much!!!i love days of the pheonix!!!

by Walked-away 5/13/2004 0:00:00

I have liked AFI for two years the first album that i got was sing the sorrow but what made me really like them was all there old stuff like the atr of drowning one of there best CDs yet

by Jebus 7/3/2004 0:00:00

AFI sound like 12 year-old pre-pubescent girls. Anyone interested in better music should check out The Viloent Threats.

by jenno 2/24/2005 0:00:00

the art of drowning, what can i say, the complex lyrics that make us think, with daveys powerful yet soothing melodius voice behind them, AFI has outdone themselves, not my fav AFI album i will say, but it is rated up there with the best of them i think, the music behnd daveys voice is addictive and the sounds that they manage to make with such simple instruments backed up with daveys voice send shivers down my spine, a devoted fan always.

by Juicy 4/20/2006 0:00:00

Liked, but sing the sorrow is much better for me!!!

Add comment:

Concerts

Mark Knopfler

2013-05-08 - Lodz, Atlas Arena 19:30 165-616 PLN

Roger Waters The Wall

2013-08-20, Warszawa, tickets: 242 zł - 1310 zł

Sonisphere Festival

2013-10-12 - Wroclaw 19:30, tickets: 165-1616 PLN

Iron Maiden

2013-08-20, Warszawa, tickets: 242 zł - 1310 zł

Need help?

Ask about this template.

person

Kate Houston*

mnbootstrap@gmail.com


Address

Music-nation

1516 Woodstock Drive

Los Angeles, CA 90071

626-478-6373

mnbootstrap@gmail.com

Contact us